Book Review: Fallen

Apr
28
2 COMMENTS • This post is filed under: Book Review
Fallen Fallen by
Series: Fallen #1
in 2009
Genres: , ,
Pages: 452
Source:
Goodreads

There’s something achingly familiar about Daniel Grigori.

Mysterious and aloof, he captures Luce Price’s attention from the moment she sees him on her first day at the Sword & Cross boarding school in sultry Savannah, Georgia. He’s the one bright spot in a place where cell phones are forbidden, the other students are all screw-ups, and security cameras watch every move.

Even though Daniel wants nothing to do with Luce–and goes out of his way to make that very clear–she can’t let it go. Drawn to him like a moth to a flame, she has to find out what Daniel is so desperate to keep secret . . . even if it kills her.

My Review:

It took me a very long time to pick this book up. I’d seen it around the blogosphere for a while but after reading the blurb I hesitated. I’m not much one to go in for true love stories. I’d like to believe in it, but I’m so skeptical that it has to be really well done for me to buy into it. Now that I’ve read the book, I can honestly say I’m glad I did. Kate did a very good job of setting up the romance without overdoing things, and I thoroughly enjoyed it.


Probably my favorite part of the book was the setting. I have a weakness for boarding school stories (Harry Potter anyone?) and I love the dark atmosphere at Sword and Cross. At the same time, that darkness is mixed with the St. Trinian’s type attitude of the students, making for a very interesting overall read.


My only complaint, and it’s not really a complaint at all, is that I wanted to see more of Luce gradually falling for Daniel. The exposition happened so quickly that I didn’t quite trust Luce’s infatuation with him – it felt more like puppy love than true love to me. On the other hand, Luce gradually falling would probably have ruined the story because Daniel would have caught on and pushed her away or left. Kind of a Catch-22 really.


Final verdict: This is a must read for fans of Nightshade, Twilight and other paranormal romances. I am so excited to get my hands on the next book!





Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Book Review: Fallen”

  1. Lit Addicted Brit says:

    I've had this sitting on my eReader for a while now too and pretty much every time I finish a book, I hover over this and somehow never feel inclined to get stuck in! In general, I'm not so much into paranormal romances but then I did like the Twilight saga so I'm probably just being stupid! Maybe this will turn out to be the review that 'tips me over the edge' :)

  2. Julie says:

    I liked this book, too! Unfortunately, I'm not so keen on Torment. It feel short for me. If you end up reading that I look forward to what you think. I'm a sucker for boarding school books, too! Love them :)

Many older posts are currently under reconstruction. Please excuse the inconvenience.

Welcome!

Creativity's Corner is dedicated to fostering discussion among a community built around books. I'm so happy you decided to join us! If you have any questions please check out the Tips for New Readers page.

Creativity's Corner is NOT accepting any review requests at this time. Thank you for your consideration.